Print Page | Contact Us
Latest News: Legislative Updates

Evers Transition Team Secretary Announcements

Thursday, January 3, 2019  
Share |

The Evers Transition Team announced another round of Secretary appointments today. Today's appointments are as follows:

·  Department of Health Services - Andrea Palm. Ms. Palm previously served as senior counselor at the federal Department of Health and Human Services under the Obama Administration. She also worked as health policy adviser to then-Senator Hillary Clinton. Ms. Palm is the first secretary pick from outside the state.

·  Department of Revenue - Peter Barca. Mr. Barca previously served in the State Assembly, including a few sessions as Minority Leader. He also served as Midwest regional administrator of the Small Business Administration during the Clinton administration.

·  Department of Workforce Development - Caleb Frostman. Mr. Frostman served a very short stint in the State Senate when he won a special election in the 1st Senate District in May. He lost the seat in November. Prior to his service in the Senate, he was executive director of the Door County Economic Development Corp.

·  Department of Children and Families - Emile Amundson. Ms. Amundson served Governor-elect Evers as his chief of staff at the Department of Public Instruction.

·  Department of Safety and Professional Services - Dawn Crim. Ms. Crim was previously the assistant state superintendent for the Division of Student and School Success at the Department of Public Instruction.

The transition team previously announced:

·  Department of Administration - Joel Brennan. Mr. Brennan is currently the chief executive officer for Discovery World Museum in Milwaukee. He previously served as campaign manager for Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett's 2004 mayoral campaign and led the Milwaukee Redevlopment Authority

·  Department of Natural Resources - Preston Cole. Mr. Cole has served on the State Natural Resources Board since 2007. He also curently serves as Milwaukee Commissioner of Neighborhood Services. 

·  Department of Corrections - Kevin Carr. Mr. Carr is currently the U.S. Marshal for Wisconsin's eastern federal district. He previously spent 30 years in the Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office.

·  Department of Tourism - Sara Meaney. Ms. Meaney is the chief marketing and development officer at Milwaukee Film. She has an extensive background in advertising and marketing. 

·  Department of Transportation - Craig Thompson. Mr. Thompson serves as executive director of the Wisconsin Transportation Development Association, which advocates for "development and maintenance of a strong, interconnected transportation network."

·  Public Service Commission - Rebecca Cameron Valcq. Ms. Cameron Valcq is an attorney with Quarles & Brady law firm, who works in the Energy, Environment & Natural Resources Practice Group. She previously served as in-house regulatory counsel for WE Energies. 

·  Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection - Brad Pfaff. Mr. Pfaff served as the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Wisconsin Farm Service Agency executive director under the Obama administration. 

·  Office of Commissioner of Insurance - Marke Afable. Mr. Afable is the chief legal officer for American Family Insurance. 

·  Department of Veterans Affairs - Mary Kolar. Ms. Kolar serves as the District I Supervisor for the Dane County Board of Supervisors. She spent twenty-eight active duty service in the U.S. Navy.

·  Department of Financial Institutions - Kathy Koltin Blumenfeld. Ms. Blumenfeld serves as the executive vice president of special operations for Total Administrative Services Corporation. 

·  Department of Administration, State Budget Office - Brian Pahnke. Mr. Pahnke serves as the assistant state superintendent for finance and management at the Dept. of Public Instruction.

·  Department of Public Instruction - Carolyn Stanford Taylor. Ms. Stanford Taylor currently serves as the Assistant State Superintendent.  

The Evers Transition Team has one position left to fill at the Housing and Economic Development Authority. Each secretary appointment must be confirmed by the Republican-controlled State Senate. Those confirmation proceedings will likely begin next week.  


School Nutrition Association of Wisconsin
563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136
Phone: 920-560-5630 Email: