2007-08 Annual State Conference

Conference Highlights

What wonderful and enriching experiences were demonstrated at the June/July 2008 SNA-WI Annual Conference!  The conference was truly interactive with 290 attendees, 98 exhibitors, 62 speakers, a few surprise visitors and over 50 volunteers!  It is exciting to learn about how differences affect our views and values and how, with learning more about ourselves, we can come to greater understanding and tolerance.

Children really do color our world with hope.  The tables at opening session were graced with flower pots of multi-colored jelly beans and paper flowers representing many aspects of diversity.  Drawing paper and crayons were left at each table for “doodling.”

At the opening session we were honored by a visit and a few words from Eighth District Congressman Steve Kagen (Northeast Wisconsin), from the Green Bay area, who is a supporter of nutrition programs and, as a member of the House Committee on Agriculture has worked on the nation’s farm bill.

We were also honored to have colorful cultural dance groups perform during lunch at our opening general session; the Nia Dancers and Drummers (African), and the Hmong children dancers from the Multicultural Center in Green Bay.

Among the most popular breakout sessions of the conference were

Promotions on Parade
Presented by Jane Losee

Lunch Room Bullies
Presented by Jerrilynn Donley

Diverse Dietary Needs
Presented by Linda Krueger, SNS

Monday afternoon we had chapter rallies and a wellness walk raising $884 for the Brown County Food and Hunger Network, followed by the vendor bowling party that evening at Ashwaubenon Lanes.  Everyone seemed to have a blast between bowling, pizza buffet, and a DJ.  The $1 per member campaign for the School Nutrition Foundation was exceeded by offering dollar dances with a few of our good-humored male members.  Thanks guys!

Tuesday morning new officers were installed in a ceremony conducted by Katie Wilson, PhD, SNS, past president of SNA-WI and current national president of SNA.  The new officers are:

State President:
Sue Uselding

President-Elect/Industry Advisory Co-Chair:
Ruth Ann Kiley

Vice President/Industry Advisory Co-Chair:
Cheryl Peil

Immediate Past President/State Conference Chair:
Cindy Loechler, RD, SNS

Susan Malesa

Chapter President Representative:
Gina Kulka

Education Committee Chair:
Vicky Arndt

Member Services Chair:
Rose Ann Boushele, SNS

Legislative and Public Policy Committee Chair:
Karen Brummer, RD, CD

Marketing Committee Chair:
Gregory Weis

DPI State Representative:
Richard Mortensen

Many awards were presented and over 75 member and districts were recognized.  Please see pages 20-21of the 2008-09 Badger Bulletin for details.

We are took a moment to remember our friends who passed this year:  Vera Klister, Greg Kendziora, and Carmella Schmidt.

Two more breakout opportunities were held Tuesday along with four hours of exhibits.  Tuesday’s exhibits included a demonstration by McCormick on diversity in spices. Everyone enjoyed having a free evening that night.

Following Wednesday morning’s breakouts was the closing general session, lunch, and a performance by Native American singers and dancers.  Even some of our members joined in this dancing.

As always, thank you to the past presidents who participated in the presentation of the colors and the retiring of the colors.  And to member Francha Dallman, who once again, raised her glorious voice to sing “The Star-Spangled Banner” and “God Bless America” to the resounding applause of the attendees.

The conference was preceded by classes on Healthy Edge, ServSafe, and Labor Relations.  Monday morning a tour of UW-Extension’s Organic Learning Center was offered.  There were no post-conference events as the conference led right into the 4th of July holiday.

Special thanks to two distinctive groups who made this conference possible.

First, the sponsors:

  • ASC 1
  • Brakebush
  • Butter Buds
  • Clark Malone & Associates
  • ConAgra
  • Dambeck & Associates Ltd
  • General Mills
  • Hannah-Young & Associates
  • Hobart
  • J.T.M.
  • Kellogg’s
  • King’s Delight
  • PepsiCo
  • Reinhart Food Service
  • Schwan Food Company
  • Tyson
  • Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board.

And second, the Steering Committee: 

State Conference Steering Committee Chair: Deborah Goad, SNS

Dairy Council Representative: Jane Losee
Secretary/Treasurer: Susan Malesa

President-Elect: Sue Uselding
State President: Cindy Loechler, RD, SNS

Committee Members:
Rose Ann Boushele, SNS
Gina Kulka
Vicky Arndt
Cheryl Peil
Julia Shelton, SNS
Julia Salomon, MS, RD, CD
Shelia Killion
Susan Baier